giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Diapering & Potty Training or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

VIPP Diaper Pail

VIPP Diaper Pail
Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for VIPP Diaper Pail
Review 1 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Athens, GA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009
Expensive but beautiful
This held in the odors from our cloth diapers without exception. We never left diapers in for more than a few hours, but the medical grade seal definitely did its job.
I will admit that this was a splurge by my husband and me because it looks so modern and clean, as opposed to all those plastic monstrosities on the market, because a hideous plastic diaper thingies would have ruined the aesthetics of the baby's nursery (obviously only a problem for us; the baby could not care less). But, we know we will have it to use for the rest of our lives! It's so cool and Euro, now we use it in the laundry room as a trash can. I just wish we had something stinkier to put in it to really justify the heavy-duty seal, but at least it is like a decoration instead of a trash can.
Review 2 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2011
Not worth it
I so wanted it to be the king of diaper pails. I think I've been in denial for awhile now. There is no denying it is one gorgeous can, yes. But I am gravely disappointed -- totally nauseated, in truth -- every time it is opened, and often when it is not. The worst part is the smells cling to the can. Not the steal liner, but the can itself. We set it outside in the sun for two days, but the smell was not gone. I can't believe I spent $300 on this.
Response from giggle:By customerservicecsNovember 2, 2011
Vipp's stainless steel is odor-resistent when closed - but it's true, when you open any odor-filled container there is a smell. The best, and recommend, way for keeping the stainless steel clean is to make sure and use Vipp can liners, which are tested for medical grade use, and odorless when the can is closed and used properly.

The can's liner should be regularly emptied/changed, and the inner can should be regularly cleaned (you can even deoderize with baking soda!) -- we recommend giggle's Better Basics Clean for the safest, most effective clean in the nursery, bathroom, or anywhere in the home. Follow the link to view our assortment of safe, nontoxic, biodegradable, and wonderfully effective products:

http://www.giggle.com/Cleaning-Products/health-safety-cleaning-products,default,sc.html#http://www.giggle.com/Cleaning-Products/health-safety-cleaning-products,default,sc.html?prefn1=brand&prefv1=giggle%20Better%20Basics
Review 3 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2011
Worth the extra money!
When I got this diaper pail some moms thought I was crazy for getting such an expensive diaper pail. It's been well worth the money. It has a very stylish design plus it really contains the smell. I would put it on my list of top 10 baby products.
Review 4 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Vernalis, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011
Best investment ever!!! Love my Vipp.
Andrea, My son is 5 months old and already eating solids, I can not smell anything in the nursery it is wonderful and the best selling point for me is it is a trash can so if you buy a large one you can use it after in your kitchen etc...... and they use regular trash bags so your not spending the money on specific garbage bags like the other diaper pails, so by the time I factored all the costs of regular diaper pail bags this will last a lifetime rather then just until the diaper stage is gone. I have a stainless steel colored one and plan to use it in my kitchen eventually.
Review 5 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Pasadena, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Stylish and keeps the odor from escaping!
This is one of the more expensive diaper pails, but I highly recommend it. Our son has some explosive #2 diapers and this pail keeps the odors from permeating the entire nursery. We have a diaper genie at my parents place and we need to empty it out more often because it's not as good at trapping the odor.
Review 6 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Bloomfield, NJ
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2009
Love it in yellow!
Like some of the other reviews, this is a pricey addition to any nursery, BUT it has been worth the price of admission. My husband, again, like many of the others was against buying this bin - so we made a deal. If we could raise the money by selling stuff on ebay, I could get the bin. Needless to say, we did and I bought the yellow one! The minimalist design of the bin goes great with the room, we will use this well beyond the baby stage AND true to the other reviews - no smell at all. We are using the VIPP liners, which may again be a little more spendy than using something else, but they fit perfectly. Though I will say if you use the VIPP liners, don't stuff them too full - I did this and there did come a rip in the bag today as I emptied the can.
Review 7 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Jersey City, NJ
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2009
Really Keeps Out the Smell
We have a small condo so smell from the diaper pail was a major fear for us. This can really holds in the odor and is well-made. It is expensive (thus the 4 stars), but it works.
Review 8 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Beaverton, OR
Gender:male
Age:36 - 49
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Vipp is fantastic
We received as a gift when our daughter was born. Now three years later, we are getting ready to move the Vipp diaper pail to our new child's room. It still looks like new and does wonders for keeping the smell contained. We are getting ready for another three years of use.
Review 9 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2009
A justified upfront expense!
This diaper pail seems absurdly expensive, but not when you consider what you're getting for your money. I have to say this is the best baby purchase I have made. This pail will mask the stinky soiled diapers like no other. If you get the plastic kind of diaper pail, you will still smell the soiled diapers even when you've taken out the trash because the plastic retains the odor. This pail will not do that!!
Also, the liners are cheaper than the liners for the plastic pails. You will end up spending more money in the long run if you get the plastic pail because of all the liner purchases you're going to have to make (and you can't use the VIPP liners with the plastic pail).
Plus, it looks cool and is well made. I know, it should be for that price.
Review 10 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2009
efficient and good-lookin
This is one of those products my design-savvy husband and I argued about. Really? We're going to spend how much? I still think it's on the expensive side, but we've had zero of the issues I've heard about with similar diaper pail products. It looks good, and it works.
Review 11 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:St Paul, MN
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Status:parent
Kids:2
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2009
Vipp rules
We used this as a diaper pail and now that our daughter is potty trained we use it as a garbage can in the bathroom. Worth every penny! We will have it forever and it looks so cool.
Review 12 for VIPP Diaper Pail
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Status:parent
Kids:2
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2009
One splurge
And it's justified -- they're so sturdy and durable. They'll last an eternity. (How cool will a vintage Vipp be?)