giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Nursing or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote

Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Review 1 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012
Great, but handsfree is better
You have to buy a handsfree bra in order to use this, which is ~$40, so I recommend, just buy the handsfree pump for the beginning. Being handsfree while pumping is absolutely necessary!
Review 2 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Ozark, MO
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012
A must have for a working nursing mom!
I used my Medela Pump in Style with both of my kids with great success. I was able to breast feed excessively through their first birthday while working full time, which was my goal. I will say that with my second child it seemed like toward the end the pump wasn't as strong. Maybe it was wearing out after being used multiple times a day through two kids? Not sure. Maybe it was just me too. But overall, it was easy to use, needed replacement parts were easy to get, and it worked well!
Review 3 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Wellesley, MA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
Must Have for Working Moms
While it is not always ideal to have to be nursing and back at work, this pump makes the process so much easier. The cooler located in the bag is perfect, and the tote's bigger size allows you to stuff in extra parts. Three recommendations...if you need the battery pack, keep lots of extras on hand. It requires 8 but I found it drains them pretty quickly. I would also recommend buying extra Medela bottles to pump into. Even though I was using the Playtex system, I found it easier at work to use the bottles and then dump them into my own freezer system when I got home. The Medela wipes were also a must for me...as it made it easier not to run back and forth to the sink with all the parts (for work) while the steam bags were great for home. Highly recommend
Review 4 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
A must!
This pump will be your best friend. This is the pump to get. Don't question it. Just get it. Don't think about the price. Just do it. You will need this powerhorse!
Review 5 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Largo, FL
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:3+
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012
Great for the working mom
This is great and made it possible to breast feed past the one year mark. Excellent pump, I will be using it again when my next baby arrives in a couple months.
Review 6 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Darien, CT
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012
My Medela saved me !
Out of everything we bought for the birth of our little baby I consider the breast pump the best thing we ever purchased. My baby had a very hard time latching on (in fact she never latched on!) that our lactation consultant suggested this breast pump and OMG it was such a life saver! I pumped at least 3~5 times a day for 3 months and my baby got her breast milk! I HIGHLY recommend this pump for new mother. Please it will save your life !
Review 7 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Novato, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2012
Love this pump
Although I have the backpack version (not the tote version) I love this pump. It was relatively quiet and super easy to use. I definitely recommend getting a hands-free bra to use with it, since I typically needed to do a little massage to get my best production, or needed to entertain my baby. I had severe supply issues and ended up pumping a great deal more than planned or expected. I also had a hospital grade pump for a couple of months. I found that the Pump-In-Style worked just as well as the hospital grade pump did. Also, it is very easy to take on the go. I could easily load up everything I needed in my bag, including pesonal items, and carry it as my "purse". It is worth every penny to invest in a good pump.
Review 8 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:San Francisco
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Working Mom Must Have
I am gone from the house 12 hours a day. This pump has allowed me to continue breast feeding for my son. I am so greateful for it's easy use. Gentle suction that works and it's so portable and easy to pack up. Great product
Review 9 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Best investment ever
I honestly wasn't going to purchase a pump and just planned on nursing with no bottles for as long as possible. Three days after my son was born, however, I was struggling with too much milk and blocked ducts and was encouraged to pump as a relief. What I didn't anticipate was that the pump would get so much use. Now, every morning, after the first feeding and during my son's nap I pump. It may only take 10-15 minutes but has allowed me to freeze so much milk, which will allow us to provide our son with breastmilk much longer than I was ever planning on nursing. Even if we don't introduce a bottle for awhile, it gives me peace of mind knowing that we have an ample supply should family or a sitter ever need to use a bottle. The pump works great and efficiently without any discomfort. The tote bag conceals everything perfectly - I could very easily take it to the office or out without any qualms, and the option to plug it in or run on a battery offers great flexibility. Even if you're not sure about pumping, I would strongly recommend this pump as a valuable investment.
Review 10 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Salem, Oregon
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Must have pump!
This pump comes with everything you need to pump while on the go (though pumping bras are also a great invention and buying one revolutionized my pumping time). I love the storage bag because it doesn't scream "I am carrying a machine to express milk on my every break", and it has a great flap that flips down so you can put all your items on it and not worry about all your meticulous sterilization going to waste by placing it on a dirty surface. The pump itself is the best one I have tried, and I have tried several, including two different hospital grade pumps, the Simplisse, and an Ameda. The Medela is much easier to clean and assemble that the Simplisse and you don't have to worry about losing suction. It is easily adjustable and as long as you have it on the correct settings is not painful. It is also very efficient so you have time to actually go get lunch on your lunch break as well! I definitely recommend this pump!
Review 11 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Troy
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
The only way to go
I have had this breast pump for over 4 years, use it on a daily basis and it still works perfectly. I would not recommend any other brand of double electric breast pump to anyone looking to nurse and be away form there baby at work or school.
Review 12 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:long beach, ca
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Great pump...
This pump seems to be the go to model for every mom I know. The only things I don't like are that the medela products are sort of expensive to replace. You only get one nipple for bottles that you have to use, so if you buy this model, you will need to register for more so you have a spare. The nipples for these bottles have to be the medela brand so if you're going to use a different model bottle, then you will end up with lots of extra parts. Also, I am on the larger size and had to get the larger cone things for myself. This model only has the standard size. Happy pumping!
Review 13 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:San Carlos, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2011
Must have for any working mom
This is the one must have item for any working mom who is breastfeeding. This is just one of those sturdy, functional, reliable products. This particular model is great in that it comes with a lot of accessories and even though it's not hands-free, it's easy to bu a hands free nursing bra. The black tote is also nice and discreet.
It's been almost a year since I've used this pump pretty much daily and I have zero complaints!
Review 14 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Columbus, OHIO
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Served it's purpose well!
Very Happy with this product - When I first went back to work – I was pumping as much as 3x a day! This pump and I became fast friends!
It worked well for me during the 9 months I pumped at work. At the end the tubing could probably be replaced.
Do buy a hands-free pumping bra to use with this pump – it is a must so you can do anything else while pumping!
Also buy the Medela steam bags for quick cleaning of parts! (use bag in a microwave – big time saver!)
Another helpful tip for new mommas – you can hook up your bottles direct to this pump instead of always having to use the medela bottles. I used my Dr.Brown bottles direct with the pump! Or buy the Medela storage bags for the milk you are storing in the freezer! They work direct with the pump as well.
Review 15 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:dedham,MA
Gender:female
Age:21 - 25
Kids:3+
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
amazing
the first pump i purchased for $99 because it was the cheapest i could fine.. i might as well have thrown the money away. it made pumping SO painful. Then i purchased this pump and it was like night and day! i was so nervous after my last pumping experiance but this was so much better! No pain and it worked amazingly well! i'll be bringing it back out this fall to pump and donate my milk to my friends baby!
Review 16 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Bluffton, SC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011
Daily use for a year and going strong
We used this pump daily for over a year and it is still going strong. I am a stay at home mom and many people think that SAHMs don't need a double electric pump and maybe its not a NEED but it is definately helpful. I can pump while my son is sleeping or playing and be finished in about 10 minutes so that I can do other things that need to be done. I think a good electric pump is vital to keep your supply up as well if you plan on nursing for the long haul.
Review 17 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:3+
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011
great products
I loved using Medela products with my first child, he was born preemie and had to stay in the N.I.C.U. for 6 weeks after his birth, I pumped constantly, first with a rented home pump and then a portable, both were Medela and performed excellently and worked efficiently. Will use the portable again with this baby.
Review 18 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:New York
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011
Fabulous!
Going back to work at 6 weeks postpartum is not an easy transition for breastfeeding moms, but this made it smoother for me. I feel like I can pump in half the amount of time with the let down feature, and i'm not in my work bathroom for more than 20 minutes. It's quiet, easy to use, and is completely worth the price! I would recommend this to any working mom who is going to give breastfeeding 100%.
Review 19 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2011
Pretty Good
This is the only pump I have every used and it got the job done. There are some major issues I have with this pump. First of all, the motor cannot be taken out of the bag. That means you have to stay put or lug the bag around as you pump. Secondly, there is no hands free feature so you have to buy a special hands free pumping bra (recommend simple wishes). I wish I had just gotten the medela free style model which solves both of these issues.
Review 20 for Medela Pump in Style Advanced On-The-Go Tote
Location:Greenwich, CT
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011
Get a "Closed System" Pump Instead
I lovingly used this pump for months while working. It was easy to use, strong enough for me, and I loved the battery pack option. But since then I have read how they are substandard as they are a "closed system" versus other pumps (including hospital pumps) that are "open system". An open system means there is less chance for mold growth inside the pump, and you can share the pump with other users (just swipe out the tubes). In the end it also means less pumps in the landfills.
Response from giggle:By customer servicecsMarch 22, 2011
Our customer community’s feedback is very important to giggle, and this insightful review prompted us to reach-out to the experts at Medela for additional education about “closed system” versus “open system” pumps. We’ve learned that a “closed system” is a system that is sealed to room air. Medela Pump In Style pumps are “open systems,” meaning that air can enter into the system, and condensation can develop in the tubing. In addition, Medela’s Pump In Style Advanced has an internal diaphragm that cannot be removed, replaced, or fully sterilized, therefore, the risk of cross-contamination associated with re-using a previously owned pump should not be dismissed, even when using a new kit or tubing. Product instructions detail how to easily care for the pump and parts in the event that condensation develops in the tubing or diaphragm cap, but because personal-use pumps that you buy at a retailer are personal care items they should never be resold or shared among mothers.

Another consideration when deciding to borrow or lend a previously owned electric pump is the pump’s motor life. A high quality electric double pump might last through the breastfeeding of your second child, or even several children. If you use an electronic pump that has been used for more than one year, there is no guarantee that it will generate as much speed and vacuum as it did earlier in its life. By using your own pump, you can compare the pump’s performance with each child. However if you borrow a pump, you cannot gauge its performance to ensure it is operating at full capacity. An electronic breastpump has a limited lifetime, and Medela guarantees its pump motors with a one year warranty.
1 2 next>>