giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Nursing or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Medela Freestyle Breast Pump

Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Review 1 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Reliable, relatively easy pump
I got this pump the day I got home from the hospital and used it for more than a year. It was useful both in getting my milk supply going and keeping us well-stocked for the times I couldn't be there to feed my daughter. We traveled with it and it was fairly compact & comfortable overall--although once I got to about a year, I probably should have just used a manual pump for feeding--I think this kept my milk supply stronger than it needed to be (but that is my miscalculation, not a fault of the pump's). It *is* loud--my husband would imitate the noise every night when I pumped before bed, so it's not something I would have felt comfortable using in a cubicle (or the like).
Review 2 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2013
Hands Free!! Whoopie!
I could not have gone back to work full-time without this! I returned to work after only 3 months and planned to pump until my daughter was 1 year old! I would not have even made it close if it weren't for this pump! It's so easy to use, clean and holds a charge for a couple days worth of use. It travels well on the plane as well. Must have for working moms!
Review 3 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Pasadena
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2012
Comfortable and easy to use
A bad case of inverted nipples prevented me from nursing directly (terrible latch on problems). Thankfully, this pump has enabled me to continue giving breast milk to my baby. I had to purchase the smaller 21mm breast shields separately but other than that, it is comfortable and easy to clean and use.
Review 4 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:New York NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012
Used for 15 months!
I am a working mom and found this pump to be the best. It's so small you can fit it in a larger purse and I never had any issues with it. I pumped three times a day every work day for 15 months!
Review 5 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Bellmore, ny
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012
Great pump
Great pump. The different settings let you find a perfect comfort for your body
Review 6 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Beckley, WV
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012
Love this pump
I absolutely love this breast pump. It is small and so easy to use. I feel that it works great for me. I work in a hospital and have to transport my pump with me to work. I can store my pumping supplies in the travel bag in addition to my pumped milk in the provided cooler with no problems. I would highly recommend this for someone on the go.
Review 7 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Tried and true
I am using this pump again after having my 2nd child who is 9+ months. I do not use it everyday but mostly when traveling for work. The freestyle has allowed me to pump in my office, in airports, plane bathrooms, customer/restaurant bathrooms before meetings, etc. Unless you recognize the bag, it doesn't stand out if you are seen hauling it around with your computer bag. The motor is loud but that was generally not an issue unless I was pumping at night when my husband was trying to sleep. The hands free feature allowed me to keep working on my computer or caring for my kids while pumping.
Review 8 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Oakland, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Portable, lightweight, easy to use
Even though I wasn't a working mom and didn't have to pump every day, I'm glad I splurged on this. It's great for traveling, extremely portable, and easy to use since there's only 5 buttons on the control unit. It has a stronger suction when plugged into an electrical outlet but I mostly use it on its battery and it works just fine.
Review 9 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Great for working moms
Isn't technology great?! This pump was so wonderful - especially when I went back to work. It is so much smaller, lighter and more modern than other pumps. You can program it for your needs (to change speeds and shut off based on your pumping needs) and the parts are so much easier to clean.
Review 10 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:sausalito, ca
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Best pump
Truly, you can not buy a better pump. It is light, easy to use, quiet and so convenient and this is coming from a mom who strongly disliked having to pump. Just buy this one and be done with it!
Review 11 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Golden for working moms
Pumping at work is still a hassel. Few of us have work arrangements that allow us to strap the Freestyle onto our nursing bra and stay at our desk while pumping. I am happy with this product but rarely use the freestyle kit. I like it insted because it it efficient with a good vaccume range and 2-phase extraction, that it is light and easy to carry with me and that the battery last for days or weeks.
Review 12 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011
Fantastic!
I've used a few different pumps (manual & electric)... this is by far the absolute best! There are several other women in my office who are pumping or recently finished, and they all comment about how I have the Rolls Royce of pumps - and I truly feel I do! I'm not sure why the one person said they feel they need to be near an outlet to pump, as it does have a rechargeable battery... I've never used it plugged in. Very small, portable, quiter than others, and fast (I get an average of 6 oz in less than 10 minutes). So worth the $$
Review 13 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:DC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Excellent Buy
I ended up becoming an exclusive pumping mom and now I'm in my 8th month of providing my daughter with milk. This little thing has helped me pump enough milk that my little one has had 0 formula after her first week. I have used it in the most public of places under my nursing cover and the size makes it possible to be insanely discreet. Worth the extra $ to get something that is powerful and small.
Review 14 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Jersey City, NJ
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Pretty Good Pump
Pumps relatively well. I'm able to pump 1 to 2 ounces at a time, but then it stalls. The shields that it comes with are a bit large too so I had to get a smaller set. This pump would be even more useful if there was a rechargeable battery option. As it is, I need to be near an outlet to pump. It would also be nice if there was a nipple set so the storage bottles can be used as feeding bottles, cutting out a washing step. I like the variable pumping speeds and rates.
Review 15 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Cypress tx
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
Best breast pump!!!
I highly recommend this product. It's easy to use and quiet. I love the fact that its handfree and snaps easily onto any nursing bra.
Review 16 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Pasadena, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
life saver
This thing saved my life when I first had my son. It was all I used for the first 5 weeks of his life when I was having trouble breastfeeding. I now have a very easy time breastfeeding and I'm thankful I invested in this pump.
Review 17 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Must have for bf moms
It's a good pump. My husband hates the motor because it's so loud. Annoying parts but they all have them. The belt it comes with to hold the pump doesn't really work...the motor has fallen out of it a few times so I never use it. Medela has great warranty and customer service.
Review 18 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Delaware
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Don't spend the extra $$
If I had to do it all over again I would get the Pump in Style. The pump itself is the same. The straps that come with this one that make it hands free work only with certain nursing bra straps. Without a lot of practice it is really a hassle. I originally bought this pump with the thought that I would be returning to work. However, I ended not returning so I have the flexibility to pump while holding the nipple suction things ( can't think of their proper name). Plus I find that they work a whole lot better when you hold them and angle them to get more milk.
Before purchasing I would do more research on the differences between the Freestyle and Pump in Style and save yourself some $$.
Review 19 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Chicago
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Not as great as a hospital grade pump
In case you don't know it yet, pumping is hard work, very hard work and can be painful. I had high hopes for this pump, but for me it did not work because I had to pump a lot at first. Renting a Medela hospital grade pump saved me from losing my milk supply and I thought it was less painful to use. Maybe if you end up using it just occasionally, it's a good purchase, but not for every day, a few times a day, use.
Response from giggle:By customer servicecsMarch 11, 2011
While Medela's Freestyle Breast Pump is the leader in pumping technology, neither this pump, nor any other retail pump, can compete with the power of a hospital-grade rental pump. Always consult your lactation specialist for directions on what's best for you and your body.
Review 20 for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
Location:Maplewood, NJ
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011
Love how tiny it is
Awesome for travel and bringing back and forth to work! It's a amazing that such a tiny pump can work so well.
The hands-free straps don't work well for me so I use a pumping bra.