giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Cribs & Beds or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

bloom Alma Mini Crib

bloom Alma Mini Crib
Rating:
4.162 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Review 1 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:BROOKVILLE, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:parent
Kids:1
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2009
Just What we Wanted
When my daughter turned two months the Bassinet we had purchased was getting a bit too small! Not wanting to put her in the crib we purchased for her room - yes we wanted her with us all night - we began to search for something else. We had been using the Snuggle nest in our bed - and loving it - but needed to giver her her own space next to our bed (the arms rest co-sleeper just was not for us) We purchased the Alma crib in white and could not be happier. It is sturdy - good-looking - the mattress is organic - and she has plenty of room. It folds easily and is great to bring to grandma's house for the weekend (it is portable but heavy) She loves it too...
Review 2 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:riverdale, ny
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014
QUALITY !
I am in love with this crib. Everyone who visits compliments it, its Gorgeous and beautiful quality. I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars for two reasons.
1. As everyone says, this crib will not fit your baby for a year- i don't care how small your baby is!
2. The slots between the bars are rather big so that many a time I go to my screaming infant to find one of her limbs stuck outside the bars. I had to buy for another $100 the bumper, (hasn't arrived yet) but this will also take up space inside the already small crib
Still. I would buy again. I am using it as I would a bassinet, but this crib feels very sturdy and safe
Response from giggle:By customerserviceCSJanuary 2, 2014
giggle adores Bloom's Alma Mini Crib and agrees with our reviewer that it's a great bassinet! One of the reasons it's so sturdy is that it meets all U.S.A. federal regulations for full-size crib safety standards, including the width between the slats, which is a standard maximum width as required by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).
Review 3 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Austin, Texas
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Excellent
Love this crib!
Wonderfully sleek design, easily portable from our room to his. Has been great for the past six months, will see how the next six months go! If our parents lived nearby we would just pack this up for overnights. Its a little heavy to carry, better to roll with the roll wheels it comes with.
Review 4 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:San Francisco , CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013
Great for small spaces, even for my big baby.
I bought this crib to fit in our very small (420 sq. ft.) 1 bedroom apartment. This crib fit the bill perfectly. While my daughter and I became accustomed to cosleeping while we lived in the small apartment, she had little difficulty transitioning to the Alma crib when we moved into a 2 bedroom apartment. She learned to sleep on her own in this crib, and continued to sleep in it from the age of 8 months to 1 year 8 months. She was a relatively large baby, in the 90th percentile for weight and height for many of the months she used the crib.
Now the crib is in our room again for my 5 month old son. He is even larger, but still fits comfortably.
The Alma crib is beautiful, functional, and one of a kind. If you think your child can't sleep in it, just give them some time. They will get used to it.
Review 5 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012
Awesome crib!
Green, organic, natural products are important to us, to protect the health of our LO. That said, we are also value shoppers, so we will only spend more to get these natural products, within reason. This crib is worth every penny. It is so versatile with the fold-up capability and the wheels make it so easy to move between rooms to accomodate company or to keep baby near you when sleeping/playing in the crib. We have a smallish home and this mini-crib has saved us while we look for a bigger place. Love Bloom products for their dedication to natural products. We also bought the coco mattress and the Bloom waterproof mattress cover and have been pleased with both. We were opposed to spending $700 on a large crib, but we are so convinced of this crib that we will probably splurge for the big one if/when our DD outgrows the mini. Recommend.
Review 6 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012
The perfect fit for small apartments
My experience with the Alma Mini is that people consider buying it either to use as a bassinet/transitional crib or because they are space-constrained. If you are in the latter category, you will probably like the crib more and use it longer. It is slim, well-made, portable (although heavy), and sturdy. Our 11-month-old has slept comfortably in it from birth and we often take it with us when we travel by car. As previous reviewers have pointed out, babies can't roll all around as they might in larger cribs but our daughter never had trouble rolling over/moving around. Proportionally, putting an older baby to sleep in it is probably similar to an adult sleeping in a twin bed. Not tons of extra space but more than fine.
If you are used to living in space-constrained urban environments, it will probably fit naturally into your lifestyle and if your baby hasn't experienced anything different, it will be normal for him/her! It all depends on your expectations/constraints/needs.
Review 7 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Alma Mini Amazing
We absolutely loved our Alma Mini Crib. We used a bassinet for our first daughter and then after a few weeks moved her giant crib into our room so she could sleep better. Not wanting to do that again, we found the Alma Mini crib. We by passed the bassinet all together and went straight into this crib. It was perfect. We could put it next to our bed without it taking up too much room, it she wasn't lost in the crib, it wheels around smoothly with little notice from the baby, and it collapses and stores perfectly. The mattress is nice and thick. Can't say enough wonderful things about it!
Review 8 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:SF, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Perfect for small apt
My son is over 2 and still very happy in his alma crib even though he is too tall for it!
The bumper crib is fabulous! Definitely get a teething bumper for the top ridge when they start teething.
Review 9 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:New York
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
It depends...
Like a lot of New Yorkers, our child sleeps in the room with us! so we thought this crib would be ideal. It is a very sturdy, mobile crib and you can put it together in about 5 minutes.
We used a cosleeper when our son was 0-2 mo and then graduated to the alma mini.
The problem is: it's not only short, it's narrow. He is 6.5 months and already outgrew it. The length was okay but a baby can't roll over in this crib and that was a deal breaker.
Perhaps if we hadn't co-slept, I would've felt better about this purchase, but considering we only used it for about three months, I regret it.
Review 10 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011
Great looking - and great for small spaces.
The Alma Mini Crib is perfect for small spaces and is overall a nice looking piece that blended in perfectly with the rest of our bedroom furniture (we got the espresso color). Our son used this for three months - after that he started rolling over and it was just too small for him. So essentially we used it as a bassinet - which we expected would be the case and were ok with from the beginning. We've since upgraded to the Giggle Harper crib and our son loves that too!
Review 11 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2011
Extremely versatile crib!
This crib is worth every penny -- we used it as a bassinet when our daughter was an infant and a play yard when she got older. The casters make it mobile and so convenient. I could put my daughter in there, wheel it into the kitchen, prepare meals, then wheel it into her room for naptime. Highly recommended!
Review 12 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:chicago, il
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
great for small spaces
The cri took about 2 minutes to pt together and fits perfectly in a very small bedroom. The bright orange is just adorable!
Review 13 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011
Great for small spaces
We got this crib to keep in our bedroom for our newborn and then to use as a portable crib once he got older. I love the look and how it stores away. However I regret buying it for our bedroom. I would have much preferred to have a co-sleeper while he was a newborn. And while it does fold away nicely, it is very heavy and the mattress and mattress board have to be carried separately. That said, we now keep the crib at my parents' house, which is very helpful. But at the price we paid, I don't believe I would have bought it again. Definitely a great crib for a small space and primary crib.
Review 14 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:female
Age:50 or older
Kids:1
Status:grandparent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011
Great for small spaces
We purchased the Alma Mini Crib in espresso for our daughter who lives in NYC. Its sleek, modern profile fits perfectly in their apartment. Yes ... It's small. But we knew that and all agree it is the perfect alternative to a bassinet or Moses basket. When their son ... now 5 weeks old ... graduates to a full sized crib, it will fold flat for easy storage. It coordinates beautifully with the Harper Changing Table.
Review 15 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:NYC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2011
this is really a bassinet
I bought this crib knowing that it wouldn't make it to age 2, but my child is almost 6 months and we need to get something else. The quality is great, but this is just too small now. She wakes up a lot at night because she has maneuvered herself sideways and gets stuck.
Response from giggle:By customer servicecsMarch 14, 2011
Alma meets and exceeds the global standards required for a 24 month (or 2 years) age grade. However, US consumers are used to more sleeping/living space for their children than other parts of the world. For example, the standard crib (referred to as "cots") size throughout Europe is more than 6" shorter and 6" narrower than US cribs. As a result, an increasing number of U.S. Alma customers feel that although it is safety regulated for up to 2 years, they are only comfortable using it for 6-9 month-olds (more like a bassinet). This is particularly true as an every night solution vs. an occasional weekend one.

We continue to love the Alma - and so do most of our customers! We understand it is an investment and therefore are committed to being very transparent about the feedback on its length of use so that every one of our customers can make their own decisions about the investment for length of use.
Review 16 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Bay Area, California
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
alma crib
Perfect for small spaces. Easy assembly and easy to store away when not in use.
Review 17 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010
LOVE the Alma!
This is by far the BEST baby purchase we made, nothing gets used more! My son has been sleeping in it since the day we brought him home and he is now 7 months. As far as size he is 90th % for height and he's still got plenty of room. The best part is we take the crib with us when we travel (by car) - it packs a little bit bigger than a pack & play (although heavier) - so he sleeps in his own bed, no disrupted sleep while traveling! I also love that it tucks away easily when not in use - we just roll it into a nook and it's out of the way. We did not purchase the bumper and never missed it. It did seem pricey for a "bassinet" but it turned out to be so much more, and for us, completely worth every penny!!
Review 18 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010
Only good as bassinet
I bought this crib for my 1 bedroom apartment thinking that I could use it for at least the first year of my daughter's life before we moved to a house. I was wrong. It was great for the first several months, but she is now 5.5 months old and wakes up in the night crying with her body at a diagonal and her head against the side of the crib. There is just not enough room in this very narrow crib for a baby who tries to move around a bit to soothe back to sleep. I had to remove the bumper at 3 months because it took up even more space in this super narrow crib. I would skip it unless you are okay spending $800 (between crib, mattress, sheets, protector etc) on a bassinet. Thankfully I think I will use it for our next child so I can get a little more use out of it. It is just not possible to believe that it would last for 2 years -- maybe only if your infant is a super heavy sleeper and does not tend to move around in their crib.
Review 19 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:Buffalo
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2010
Perfect for Miniature Babies
This is a lovely piece, almost sculpture-like. However, my average-sized seven-month-old is already too big for the crib. Considering it costs about $800 or so when you factor in the mattress protector, sheets and shipping - and considering that most newborns won't initially sleep in a crib - this was by far our most absurd rookie parenting mistake. By the time our baby began sleeping in this crib he had already outgrown it. The suggestion that a two-year old can sleep in this crib is laughable. I do not see how it is possible. Not a two-year old human, anyway.
Response from giggle:By laurafCSSeptember 20, 2010
Alma meets and exceeds the global standards required to have their 24 months (or 2 years) age grade. However, US consumers are used to more sleeping/living space for their children than other parts of the world. For example, the standard crib (referred to as "cots") size throughout Europe is more than 6" shorter and 6" narrower than US cribs. As a result, an increasing number of U.S. Alma customers feel that although it is safety regulated for up to 2 years, they are only comfortable using it for 6-9 month-olds (more like a bassinet). This is particularly true as an every night solution vs. an occasional weekend one.

On a go-forward basis based on this feedback from our customers - and one of the reasons we value our customer feedback so much - we are recommending that consumers evaluate this purchase vis a vis their overall baby budget and priorities as an alternative to a bassinet or for use for average-size babies up to 6-12 months.

We continue to love the Alma - and so do most of our customers! We understand it is an investment and therefore are committed to being very transparent about the feedback on its length of use so that every one of our customers can make their own decisions about the investment for length of use.
Review 20 for bloom Alma Mini Crib
Location:boston, ma
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
great crib
We love this crib. It is extremely well made and very easy to set up. The only thing I would recommend is to pay attention to the dimensions of the crib. It says a baby up to 50 lbs/2 years will fit in the crib. Our baby is 11 months old and is just about grown out of it. He is tall and big for his size, but I can't imagine many kids will fit in this crib until they are 2 years old. And definitely not 50 lbs (our son is 25 lbs and is almost too big for it). Having said that, we knew the dimensions when we purchased it, so I still give this 5 stars!
1 2 next>>