giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Rockers & Gliders or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner

Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Review 1 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:westport, ct
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:suburban settler
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2013
Chic and Comfy Recliner!
We have this glider in the white leather - I'm so glad we chose this! I loved the look of the Joya rocker but did not find it as comfortable as the Grano. First, I think it's a little roomier and sturdier. I also like the leg rest/recliner option which saves us from having to get an ottoman. It's not the easiest thing to use (I have a hard time getting it back in sometimes, and it's not great when the baby has just been put to sleep!) but it's worth it and I still use it every night. The leather option is great for cleaning and it looks really chic in the nursery! I think it will last a long time and have more uses in the house in the future.
Review 2 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Grano Glider
This glider is so chic and sleek. I was so happy to have this for my babies first year of life.
Review 3 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
stylish, comfortable recliner for small spaces
We were looking for a recliner that would fit with our modern decor, be comfortable, offer support and look aesthetically pleasing. The Grano Glider and recliner definitely fit the bill. Not only is the Grano glider attractive it is so comfortable for my small 5'1 frame. It's the ideal glider if you are putting a baby to sleep at night or if you are a breastfeeding parent. I highly recommend this glider and I would purchase it from giggle.
Review 4 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Expensive but worth it.
This was the most expensive piece of furniture we purchased for our nursery because we had expected to spend many hours in it nursing our baby. We weren't wrong in that expectation - and wow, was it worth every penny. I nursed for about 15 months and both my husband and I have spent many a night rocking back and forth soothing our child. Every time we do, we thank ourselves for having the foresight to buy it. Now (in our post-nursing phase) we spend most of our time reading books to our baby in the recliner.
The great thing is, once we're done using it for the baby, it's simply a good piece of furniture and so we'll be able to move it into another room for general use.
Review 5 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Bronxville, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012
Comfortable and stylish
I was so happy when Monte added the Grano glider to its line about three years ago (when my son was born). Tired of the numerous old-fashioned gliders on the market, the Grano is an oasis of clean design. It fits well in a nursery, in an older child's room, or even in a den or living room.
Beyond aesthetics, the Grano is comfortable. As other reviewers have said, transitioning to the reclined position or the to extend the footrest can be a little cumbersome. But, once you arrive at your desired position, the chair is supremely comfortable. It was my preferred location for naps (both during pregnancy and the early days of motherhood) and for nursing.
Review 6 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:NYC, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012
Love how it moves, don't need the reclining
We absolutely love the rocking motion on this chair. It's not actually a glider, it rocks, which is a much nicer feeling than gliding. It's also a great size for sitting with your legs crossed (and hte little pillow is actually really great for nursing too). We sometimes use the leg portion of the recliner, but getting it to actually recline back is hard. More annoying is that it doesn't really stay reclined unless your pushing it, so it's not really useful for reclining and then falling asleep.
Review 7 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:reston, va
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012
Beautiful and comfy, but doesn't function well
We were very excited about this chair, but have been disappointed so far. I read the other review regarding the recline and foot rest issues, as well as the response regarding the chair 'tricks'. I have to agree, once you are reclined, you can't move, or else the back will come up straight. Try doing that with an 8 month old. And if you put any weight on your feet while the rest is up, it will just fall down. Then to close the foot rest, you have to push very hard and it makes a loud click, usually waking up baby. I tried the 'tricks' and have the same issues. Hopefully they can work these kinks out, otherwise I'd say buy the non-recline model, since the recline is useless.
Review 8 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Pasadena, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011
Great space saver
I have been very pleased with this purchase. I was worried I spent too much at first, but it has been a great value. I bought a cheaper model for my first born and regretted it when I realized how many hours I would spend in it. The footrest is easy to use, by pulling a tag on the right side. The grey color is very easy to clean and does not show dirt. I had a c-section and it is comfortable enough, with an extra pillow behind my back for the first couple of weeks. I don't use the little pillow it came with. We plan to move it into the living room. The only issue was that delivery took close to 8 weeks, so order early if you want it in time for the baby.
Review 9 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2011
I love this chair...but...
First let me say this chair is as many reviewers said, comfortable, stylish and a great fit for a small nursery. However, I had to give it three stars for one reason, the mechanism for the reclining function is so incredible stiff that I just gave up on using it that way.
-The foot support shoots up so fast and hard (and therefore loud when it locks in place) that the first few times we used it flung our legs in space, certainly not a good thing with a new born on my lap.
-In contrast, I have to use the entire weight of my body to push the back into recline position (and I'm not a small person) and keep it there. Most of the time is just pushes me back to upright.
-Lastly, in order to push the foot rest back down and lock it in place, it takes a huge amount of force specially since my hands are already full with baby. Even my husband the soccer player has trouble with it. And because you have to push so hard to lock it shut, it make a very loud clicking noise that can wake up the baby.
I'm not sure if I just got one with a bad mechanism or if they are all like that. Like I said it's great for rocking, feeding, super comfortable and I love the orange color and matching pillow, but beware the reclining!!
Response from giggle:By customerservicecsJune 27, 2011
Monte's Grano is a chair that requires a few little hints in order to get all the functions to work to their full potential. Here are 3 helpful hints for the best experience in a Grano:

- When using the footrest your feet should be up before popping up the pulley. This will ensure that the footrest comes up all the way and it will avoid any surprises.

- When reclining be sure that you are fully in the chair (your butt is right up against the back rest – remove the pillow). At that point push yourself back all the way – make sure there is nothing behind you that prevents you from reclining all the way. Rest. The weight of your body will keep the chair back. Once you lift your shoulders, even a little bit, the chair will begin to come back to the upright position.

- When pushing the footrest back down, use the back heels of your feet. It will make it much easier to bring it down than if you are using your calves.





Review 10 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:queens, ny
Gender:male
Age:36 - 49
Kids:0
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2011
Can be used besides a nursery
If you are expecting, already a parent or just looking for a very well built, fuctionable and excellent rocker, this is the 1 to get...what can I say, this chair is awesome. My wife is currently 7 mths pregnant, and this chair is what she uses to relax if she gets tense or feels tired, I even use this chair to relax after work sometimes, the rocking motion is so smooth, I've fallen asleep quite often. I know when my baby is born it will be just as useful and helpful..well worth the purchase. The great thing too about this rocker is that it can be used in any part your house as decor and not confined to a nursery. Great purchse, I'm extremely happy with is Item.
Review 11 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:0
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2011
PERFECTION!!
If you're thinking about getting this glider, don't hesitate! It's incredibly comfortable, stylish and doesn't take up a lot of space. My husband and I are expecting our first child next month and this glider has already been put to good us! Whenever I have trouble falling asleep in bed, I get on the Grano, recline, put my feet up and pass out :) I'm looking forward to nursing with on this too..I couldn't be happier with this purchase!
Review 12 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Great glider
Got my glider just before the birth of my daughter. We have been using since we got home a week ago. The chair is very comfortable with smooth gliding motion and great looking too! It is a bit difficult to get up from it with a child in arms because of discomfort from c-section, but this is temporary and minor at that. Haven't used the recliner option much, but will try for skin-to-skin contact.
Review 13 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Style & Comfort
Love all the Monte Design pieces, but this one has a modern look that should stand the test of time when we want to move it out of the nursery in a few years. We bought the Grano for the reclining feature, though sadly it really doesn't recline back far enough for me. Still, the seat and glide are so comfortable, this is my favorite place to nurse. I gave up on the boppy and other specialty pillows, and just use the one that came with the chair to prop up my arm. Works great.
Review 14 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2011
Outstanding customer service!
I have been meaning to write a review for a while now and I never have the time to review products but this one is worth it. My youngest son is 4 months and I purchased this glider when I was pregnant. The glider is not only a really space saver, comfortable and stylish; the customer service team is outstanding! My son has reflux and stained the chair I tried to removed the stains as instructed by the company but the fabric color rubbed off ( I purchased the orange) on the cloth. The company sent me a new chair and removed the old one and they were a delight thru the whole process. I highly recommend this product it's worth every penny!
Review 15 for Monte Design Grano Glider Recliner
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Status:expecting
Kids:0
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2010
Dream Recliner!
I just got my chair delivered today and I must say... it's SUPER soft and comfortable! We have a small 2nd bedroom for our future baby on the way, so we needed a recliner that took up little room but still had a sleek design. The Grano fits all my requirements. It's virtually the same height & width as the Luca Glider, but this is nice b/c you don't need an ottoman since it reclines for you = less room necessary. Can't wait to snuggle up with my little one once he/she is born! I'm glad Giggle is finally selling it without having to special order it.