giggle Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At giggle
Shop Carriers or
Choose a Category

Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural

Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Review 1 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2013
Not that great
You need it for an infant in the Ergo, no question, but they need to redesign it. It hardly supports the head, the tapering was too severe for my child, I never used the insert's insert, and as all reviews reiterate that snap just doesn't stay shut. I used it because there was no other product available, but I am much happier now that baby has grown.
Review 2 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:San Mateo, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Summer babies beware
This infant insert is quite thick and baby can get really warm and sweaty... esp in the summer. I wouldn't recommend it for summer babies.
Review 3 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:3+
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012
must-have
This is a must-have piece for the ergo carrier. It really keeps the newborn and young infant much more snug. I would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for the fact that it's a separate purchase from the carrier.
Review 4 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:trend setter
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Get it only if you need it.
Great option to use the Ergobaby early when your baby is too young/small to use it without, but it's a bit of a hassle.
First of all it's pretty thick so I doubt you could use it in the summer at all. My baby used it in the fall/winter and still overheated, especially when we were indoors. Secondly it is a HASSLE to get baby in and out. Most of the time she would cry while we tried to "swaddle" her in this insert and put her in. She would settle down once she was in but it was always a rough 5-10 minutes. The neck part is not as supportive as it claims, sometimes I had to fold it down and tuck it a certain way to get it to hold my newborn's head.
Review 5 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:New York, NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2011
Won't work for Summer
This insert is like putting your child into a down winter coat...it's way too hot. When I put my baby into it he screamed like he was being tortured.
Review 6 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2011
Must-have for me
I'm not hard core about baby-wearing or attachment parenting - but I definitely wanted my newborn to be comfortable in a carrier, had heard more raves for the Ergo than the Bjorn, and usually prefer using products as the manufacturer suggests.
Fact: Ergobaby does not want you using their carrier without this infant insert if your child cannot hold his/her head up, weighs less than 15 pounds, and/or doesn't have the hip development to splay his/her legs around your waist.
Opinion: I thought this infant insert was essential as an Ergobaby Sport Carrier owner who wanted to get my baby used to being in a carrier from the get-go. The strap, as other reviewers have mentioned, is quite useless as the plastic clasp comes undone with minimal pressure, and the metal doo-hickey to adjust the strap length is equally useless. But you dont really need the strap, so it didnt hinder usage - just docked it down from 5-star rave.
Note: Pretty much all carriers/babies get hot. You're smushing your child up against yourself. Dress yourself and your baby accordingly.
Conclusion: If you want to use your Ergo carrier with your newborn infant, you need this insert. It is soft, durable, and serves its purpose - albeit for a relatively short period of time. Such is the fate of many baby products - surprise, surprise.
Review 7 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Bethesda, MD
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Baby Hates It
I was so hoping that this would work. I've been trying to find a carrier that I would like and my baby would like. The Moby worked for a few weeks just shortly after he was born. But after that he just cried when he was in it. I couldn't even get him into the Baby Bjorn, and he has very quickly gotten too big for that. I got the Ergobaby carrier and this recommended insert. He particularly dislikes the insert -- it's hot (I think), he feels cramped (I'm guessing) and he cries. I'm hoping that when he gets a little bigger he'll like the Ergobaby carrier on its own. In the meantime, I'm just carrying him.
Review 8 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:city dweller
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
Not necessary
I would save money and skip the infant insert. You won't use it very long and you can just swaddle a newborn and put him/her cuddled in sideways to do the trick.
Response from giggle:By customer servicecsMarch 14, 2011
As ErgoBaby's ErgoCarrier is not rated for use under 15 lbs without the use of the ErgoBaby Infant Insert, we have to caution users that the best practice for safe use of this product is as directed by the manufacturer -- with the ErgoBaby Infant Insert.
Review 9 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:office parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Must have for mom!
If you want to be able to get out of your house with your new one, I highly recommend this! You can't put the baby in the ergo without it until they are about 4 months old. This is a great accessory! It boosts him up and gives more head support so you can use the Ergo, which I love. The buckle comes undone easily, however. Doesn't matter once he is in the ergo, but don't expect it to hold your baby in the insert.
Review 10 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:denver, co
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:1
Status:parent
Lifestyle:full-time parent
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Helpful
While we only used it for the first few months, I do think it was helpful. I know some people say it's not necessary, however, it helped to cushion our little one just perfectly and give her the proper support, especially with her unstable head and neck! I would definitely recommend it!
Review 11 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:New York NY
Gender:female
Age:36 - 49
Kids:2
Status:parent
Lifestyle:space constrained
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
great addition
I am so happy this insert for the ergo came along. I loved my ergo, but with this insert, I can now use it for my new baby. So smart.
Review 12 for Ergobaby Original Collection Infant Insert - Natural
Location:London, UK
Gender:female
Age:26 - 35
Kids:0
Status:expecting
Lifestyle:eco-conscious
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
A bit awkward
This insert isn't the easiest to use and the instruction manual doesn't really help. Would recommend you checkout an online video of how to use it beforehand. Might be too hot for a summertime infant.